Yamaha V863 + Kef 3005SE = good match?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi there,

I'm completely new to the Home cinema scene and have been doing some reading up on what my setup is going to look like.

My shortlist has currently been drilled down to the Yamaha V863 receiver (was considering the Onkyo SR606, but the reviews of the Yamaha have been much better) along with Kef's KHT-3005SE (I am also considering the 5005.2 series from Kef but they are very difficult to find for a decent price). Another speaker option is the Tannoy Arena series, but I have read so many raving reviews about the Kefs that it seems a no-brainer.

What I'm going to connect:

Apple TV (via component + optical or HDMI)

Pioneer HDD DVD recorder (via component + optical)

Nintendo Wii (via component)

Playstation 3 (via HDMI)

Digital box (via HDMI)

Will be connecting everything with existing Monster cables and newly bought QED cables.

I currently have a nearly 3 year old Sony Bravia 32" LCD which support 720p, but plan to replace with something better in the next 12 months.

I want to have a setup that makes a nice balance between movie quality sound and music quality sound. I am by no means a fussy audiophile, but can enjoy a good sounding system. I believe in doing things right!

How do you feel the speakers and receiver will match if you look at what I'll be throwing at it? Are the speakers too high-end for this relatively cheap receiver?

I appreciate any inputs given! Many thanks!

A

Anonymous

Don't want to complicate things for you but feel you should be aware if you want to save a few £££.

I am in the same situation using a PS3 as my BluRay player and will continue to.