Which amplifier to pair with my AVR?

Hi all,

Upfront: I'm new to the Hifi world, so I might have gotten one or the other things wrong in the below - please feel free to point out ;)

I was reading into the topic a lot and sort of figured out the setup I (think I) need. Given that I want to have a balance of both, a decent home theater setup and good music experience, as well as the option to develop/upgrade my setup at a later stage, I decided to go for an AVR paired with an external amplifier for (stereo) music. I'm looking to spend around 2,500 GBP max for the setup for now (AVR, amp, 2 proper front speakers for stereo plus additional surround speakers).

Reading through various perspectives on this topic (I know there are many out there) as well as product reviews, I decided to go for a Yamaha RX-A1010 for the AVR. It has the right level of functionality, good reviews and especially its pre-out delivers the right output level (~2.8Vrms according to a review on this site) - as I understand this is crucial to feed any (power) amp properly. I got it for a good price, however was not able to test-listen to it, so fingers crossed it holds what the reviews suggest..

Now I'm looking for the right amplifier for this setup - my questions are whether 1) to go for an integrated amp or a power amp and 2) which are good models to look at.