Where to add a psx-r to my Cyrus system

Roman Totale

Nov 23, 2011
Visit site
Hi all

I have a Cyrus system consisting of CDXTse2, DAC XP and two SmartPower Plus (used as monoblocks).

I am thinking of adding a PSX-R, is it worth it and where is the best place to put it?

Thanks

I'm no expert on Cyrus kit but would have thought your most critical point on the power supply front would be a CD player.

However as yours is purely a transport then I would say you need it on the DAC preamp.

No doubt more knowledgeable advice will be coming along soon. :)

Roman Totale

Nov 23, 2011
Visit site
Thanks Alears for the prompt post.

That chimes with a view I have heard elsewhere, that given the DAC XP is both a DAC and a pre amp it might have most benefit there.

Keen to hear how the views stack up.

ngibbs

Jun 12, 2010
Visit site
Alears said:
I'm no expert on Cyrus kit but would have thought your most critical point on the power supply front would be a CD player.

However as yours is purely a transport then I would say you need it on the DAC preamp.

No doubt more knowledgeable advice will be coming along soon. :)

+1

bluebrazil

Jul 2, 2009
Visit site
my only psxr is on my pre amp. it does not make as big a difference as it did on my old 8sv2 amp but since i already owned one it went on the new pre amp. if your amps drive your speakers properly then i would not bother for them as i think it just adds power.

Crossie

Aug 4, 2009
Visit site
I went from Pre XPDQX and 4 MonoX's straight to DAC XP sig and MonoX 300 sig. - so can't really comment on individual pereformance. Overall a big step up in detail, bass and sound stage.

Roman Totale

Nov 23, 2011
Visit site
Thanks ngibbs, bluebrazil, and Crossie.

Looks like a clear view towards the DAC XP, so far...