Where next from AR935E?

markcurling

Aug 10, 2021
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I’m new here. I know very little about Hi-Fi equipment, but I’m in the market for buying some soon, and I’m hoping you guys might be able to narrow my search before I begin to boil the ocean trying to understand everything!

When I was young, my dad handed me down his system, which is a pair of AR935E speakers and a NAD 3020 amp. I'll attach pictures, but excuse the quality (they are currently stored away during building work so I'm just digging out what I can find). When I received them, the seals around the bass drivers were rotten, so I did what every cash-strapped teenager would do, and replaced them with the cheapest subwoofers from the local car shop (don’t hate me!). However, they miraculously survived that ordeal, and I have been using them with no issues for the last 20 years. We are currently refurbing our house, and ‘vintage’ equipment has been relegated from the design spec, so I’m going to need to replace them with something more in keeping (perhaps two sets for different rooms).

I have enjoyed the sound from these more than virtually all the other systems I have heard on a day-to-day basis over the last 20 years. Obviously, I’m keen to understand why, so I don’t start researching the wrong types of products for my next purchase.