When exactly to stop?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I had been changing gears for the past 2 years, for some unknown reason i just had the urge to upgrade my rig. My existing rig consist of Naim 202/202, CDX2 and Spendor S6. Hifi seems to be never ending, so how do you guys know when exactly is the time to stop?

A

Anonymous

Surely the fever doesn't wear off even if you own the best gear in the whole wide world. You're brain will still seek an upgrade, even if it means worse sound!

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
Thaiman:
I suppose when you own NAC525/NAP500/CD555 and a pair of Amati Homage!

It's when you take up golf isn't it, Thaiman?! I've just started getting into golf myself actually...

A

Anonymous

I think the only item i did not change so far is the speaker. The previous 5i/CD5i just come and go.

A

Anonymous

I tend to take a different view and my answer is when I can't hear or see any difference. Sad I know I should be taken out the back and shot.
emotion-2.gif
or worse - forced to listen to MP3's of thrash metal played on one of those tsh! tsh! tsh! players.
emotion-5.gif

A

Anonymous

DistortedVision:
It's time to stop when get so obsessed with upgrading and modifying that you forget to just enjoy the music. That's why we are all into hi-fi in the first place isn't it?

...and when the impact of the spend to upgrade impacts you or your family negatively. Then it's time to stop.

A

Anonymous

Do you ever tire of a hobby? I guess the answer would be never, for me at least.

A

Anonymous

EvilWolf:
Do you ever tire of a hobby? I guess the answer would be never, for me at least.

Have you tried Papier Mache modelling?

A

Anonymous

DistortedVision:
It's time to stop when get so obsessed with upgrading and modifying that you forget to just enjoy the music. That's why we are all into hi-fi in the first place isn't it?