What to Look For when Choosing Computer Speakers

scorpio187

Sep 29, 2013
Visit site
HI there, I am currently shopping for computer speakers and since I am a total newb when it comes tech, I was hoping someone could help me here a bit. I have been looking around, mostly on this website and there are so many types of speakers out there, but the PROBLEM is I don't know which type I should primarily look at. Just to clarify, I am looking for SELF-POWERED speakers that I can simply connect to my laptop and use it without any hassle of buying an additl amps/dac. In terms of budget I am willing to spend no more than $2,500. I have heard some good things about KEF X300A and B&W mm-1, although I haven't heard any of them. I do like mm-1 ultra-modern sleek design though.

Like I said there are many speakers out there and when looking, I am not sure if the speakers that I may be interested in will suit my needs. How can I find out if the speaker's all built-in and does not require a DAC or AMP to run it on the laptop.

If anyone could help me here I'd greatly appreciate it.

All the best,

Damien

skippy

Mar 11, 2012
Visit site
Probably depends on the size of your room and whether you're sat at the PC desk or using them in a more conventional set up. I'm no expert with actives, but I bought a pair of entry level studio monitors yesterday and I'm more than happy. With your budget you could be looking at focal cms65 or even the solo's, event opal's. Somebody yesterday mentioned ATC and quested monitors, but this side of the pond, they are quite hefty in price.

Ultimately your ears will tell you what you like, but if you have a music store nearby, take some music in on a flash drive and get a demo

Alec

Oct 8, 2007
Visit site