what pana set to buy ???

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi

ive been looking at these pana sets

TH 42pz81 , pz800, pz80, px80 & pz85

Ive got a budget of aroung £1000, ive got sky+ & no AV surround sound.

My question is what set is the best for standard SD & no surround sound? Ive heard the pz800 is good but its a bit expensive, ive also heard the pz85 is cracking.

Is it worth getting one of these or one of the new 09 sets.

cheers

A

Anonymous

As you dont have SKY HD, why not consider the 720p models. The 2009 TX-42PX10 is priced at £699 currently. The PX80 was a cracking set. This will be better.

A

Anonymous

What if i buy this set or any 720p & decide to get sky HD or any other HD input, will this upscale to 1080p? Is it important to have 1080p & will i notice the difference?

sorry for the lack of knowledge but im new to this HD stuff.

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
rewerb:The PX80 was a cracking set. This will be better.

Should be better, surely? No guarantees until we've all seen the sets in action, and also what the competition's come up with for 2009.

simonlewis

Apr 15, 2008
Visit site
seanie:
What if i buy this set or any 720p & decide to get sky HD or any other HD input, will this upscale to 1080p? Is it important to have 1080p & will i notice the difference?

If 1080p is important to you then look at the PZ range, the PZ81 has freesat, PiP & a few extra features, if your not bothered by freesat then i suggest you look at the PZ85.

A

Anonymous

seanie:

The 720p sets will accept a 1080p signal and scale it down to the TVs physical pixels. Consensus is that 1080p is most noticable on larger sets - 50" plus. At the 42" size you really have to sit very close to notice any difference between a 720p and 1080p panel.

If most of your viewing is SD material the SD PQ on the Panasonic 720p sets is better than the 1080p sets. So that's the one to go for, IMO.

simonlewis

Apr 15, 2008
Visit site