what cable to connect subwoofer to two monitors

Vladimir

Dec 26, 2013
Visit site
Definitely go with balanced XLR connection where possible. Van Damme cable with metal Neutrik connectors. This designacable shop comes recommended by one of our forum members. Good service.

What is your source? Which DAC, audio interface, receiver?

Vladimir said:
Definitely go with balanced XLR connection where possible. Van Damme cable with metal Neutrik connectors. This designacable shop comes recommended by one of our forum members. Good service.

What is your source? Which DAC, audio interface, receiver?

Hi, just a computer DAC (meridian explorer2), and sometimes when people come along a bluetooth reciever conected to the rca.

Is there a problem if I connect the rca /unbalanced) to the sub and out of the sub 2 xlr one to each monitor?

I am sorry I am very new to this balanced unbalanced suff.

davedotco

Apr 24, 2013
Visit site
OK. Your Presonus 2.1 system is designed to be set up using balanced cables, so you should use them if you can.

The problem is that your usb dac is unbalanced out. The best solution (in your setup) is to replace it with a pro type interface that has balanced outputs, something like the Scarlett 2i2 - 2. Most such interfaces have more facilities than you need but this model keeps it simple. You can even use the line inputs for you bluetooth reciever, just get a phono/jack converter.

Output from this is balanced on TRS jack, so I would use TRS cables throughout, keep it simple. In this sort of setup there is no real advantage using XLR connectors though you can if you wish.

Use Van Damme cables, if you are in the uk, Designacable are excellent.

Alternatives to this would be to use a hi-fi dac with balanced outs, probably quite expensive or to run the system unbalanced with what you have, phono cables (van Damme again) to your sub then TRS or XLR cables to you E44.

Vladimir

Dec 26, 2013
Visit site
+1 for the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2.