Valves... what, where, how....

Farmitou

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
Right I completely confused by the world of valves... as this forum seems to have the best cross section of hifi users I'd like to know your opinions.

1. Do different valves change or improve the sound.

2. If so... how do you know which to use and where to get them... is it amp specific, with different valves having different reactions to different amps or do they have the same characteristics in different amps.

3. Again if so... do different manufactureres of the same valve have different characteristics.

I'm new to valves and really enjoy the sound of my equipment, but as a long term goal, wish to improve it if possible. With the cost of some valves being so high ant to know if it's all hype first.

Thanks guys :)

tino

Sep 29, 2011
Visit site
I think you'll find most of the answers out there by trawling the internet or joining a dedicated Yaqin forum, unless anyone on this forum has specific experience of your amplifier. Make a note of which valves your amplifier uses (300B etc.) and search on that name/type. You will probably find comparisons of different manufacturers of those types of valves and they will probably list the quality / audio characteristics that each type might have.

A lot of people swear by NOS (New Old Stock) valves ... valves that were made many years ago e.g. Mullard, but still new and unused. NOS valves are reported to be better than some of the newer valves you can buy today ... probably because they were built during a period when manufacturing knowledge / processes / quality were at their peak.

A

Anonymous

Yes NOS valves usually get a good recommendation. Many were made during the Cold War era and used in Russian communications and spy equipment so you'd expect the old Soviet regime to be pretty keen on good quality kit in their fishing trawlers (spy ships)

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
tino said: