Trying to figure out the amp to speaker power ratio...

Dec 26, 2014
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I recently got a Denon PMA520AE, it's a pretty nice 2 channel amp that outputs 45W per channel at 8 ohms and 70W at 4 ohms, it got bundled with some large Boston Acoustics CS 260 II speakers that don't work well with it, they start clipping and stuff. (250W speakers). Getting a power amp for them would be ridiculous so I'm thinking about getting some smaller bookshelf speakers.

I am really new at this stuff and I have no idea what the amp to speaker power ratio should be, all I understood is that underpowering speakers is a huge mistake. I've been thinking about some Bowers & Wilkins 686 speakers but they're a bit over my budget, but I guess they should work with my amp. They are also some of the lowest power speakers I've fond for my amp (100W).

drummerman

Jan 18, 2008
Visit site
Most people use no more than 10 watts into speakers of reasonable sensitivity, 88db+ and that will sound loud. Music Peaks will slightly increase the power required but for the average person with average speakers 40 to 50 clean watts into 8 ohm and 70 or so in to 4 (which is what most modern stand mounts are) is plenty.

However, many modern Stand mounted speakers are perhaps 84 to 85db, not the manufacturer stated 88+ so a multi driver floor stander will usually have the advantage in that respect.

It all depends how loud you listen and yes, clipping is fine way to destroy speakers.

lindsayt

Apr 8, 2011
Visit site
Alvi Tellez, I have one amp and speaker combination where the ratio of max amp power (continuous into 8 ohms less than 1% THD) to maximum recommended power for the speakers (continuous 24/7) is 6 to 1. And I have another combination where the ratio is 1 to 25. Both combinations sound fine and neither combination is ever used at peak volumes where clipping will occur. There's no magic ratio for amp max power to speaker power handling.