This months Big Question

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the What HiFi community: the world's leading independent guide to buying and owning hi-fi and home entertainment products.

Gerrardasnails

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
idc:
Gerrardasnails:idc:Do the participants on the Big Question discuss the test as it is ongoing, or is notes and everyone keeps quiet until the end?
It doesn't matter. Your mind is already made up.

That is not true. I am following the best evidence, which is at the moment that the difference is in the listener and not the cable. Should the evidence suggest otherwise I will do so as well.

The problem is that none of the blind tests, sighted tests or measurements that I have seen have been wholly conclusive one way or another. I am not a scientist, I have a legal background and at the moment I would certainly say that the evidence against cables having an intrinsic effect is good enough to meet civil requirements, as in the balance of probabilities and pretty much criminal requirements, as in beyond all possibilities. But I would imagine that in a Scottish Criminal Court the case would be found not proven.

If you are a legal man you will be aware of the phrase, "The man on the Clapham omnibus". I would say that the participants on the Big Question are the men and the sofa is the Omnibus.

....or 'the sonic sofaets' as I like to call them.
emotion-1.gif

I was one of the earlier attendees, so the format may of changed slightly. We spoke a little before, during [and a lot] after each test.

BillDay66

Nov 30, 2010
Visit site
professorhat:

BillDay66:Very few people are going to have a source with both optical and usb outputs are they?

Well, most laptops these days will have both, and definitely any Apple based PC (which are quite popular for music servers).