System building advice..

iamj

Jul 6, 2014
Visit site
Hi all,

I am new to hifi and hope some of you may have come across similar problems and might be able to shed some light on the issue.

I currently have a Denon AVR-1706 playing through Mordaunt Short 902i speakers. I have Panasonic TV connected via toslink, my Mac mini connected via toslink and a Project Debut Carbon connected through a Project Phono Box II.

I would like to upgrade the Denon with a stereo amp as I'm not going to be using surround sound and understand I should get better performance from a stereo amp. I would also like to upgrade the speakers but am thinking I will do the amp first?

I don't have much of a budget but have been discussing integrated amps such as the marantz pm6005 and yamaha R-N500.

My query is whether this is the right way to go. The marantz seems a good option but only has one toslink and one coax connection, I need two toslink for the tv and Mac mini. The option here would be to connect the tv to the marantz and then get a dac like the hrt music streamer II for the mac.

But, then, would it be better to get a dacmagic 100 and connect the tv via optical and the mac via usb and just get a slightly older but better stereo amp with no optical inputs?

Your advice would be much appreciated, then I will be able to have a setup that I can start auditioning speakers with.

Thanks in advance.

MaxD

Jun 15, 2014
Visit site
iamj said:
My query is whether this is the right way to go. The marantz seems a good option but only has one toslink and one coax connection, I need two toslink for the tv and Mac mini. The option here would be to connect the tv to the marantz and then get a dac like the hrt music streamer II for the mac.

Thanks in advance.