• If you ever spot Spam (either in the forums, or received via forum direct message) please use the Report button at the bottom of each post to make sure a Moderator can handle it quickly. Thanks for your help in keeping things running smoothly!

Streamer advice for absolute beginner.

RobDavies

Oct 16, 2020
Hello.

I’m new to this streaming lark. I have a decent enough amp and speakers (Marantz PM6006 and Wharfedale Diamond 9.1’s) and I currently stream music from spotify on my iPhone via an Arcam rblink.

The sound is ok without being exceptional, which is understandable given the relatively low cost of the hifi components involved.

Therefore, I’m thinking of buying a dedicated streamer which I can also plug a hard drive into, containing a bunch of flac files.
Is it worth getting rid of my amp and buying an all in one solution like the Marantz NR1200? Or should I be looking at adding a streamer to my PM6006? Budget is about £300-£400 and I like my hifi to be fairly bright and detailed. Not sure if it’s worth mentioning or not, but I will also be looking to upgrade my speakers in the near future.

Thanks in advance.

Gray

Nov 27, 2015
Have you looked at the Bluesound Node 2i Rob?
Currently with £100 off it comes within your budget.
Not much to look at, not even a screen of any type - but your screen is on your controlling device(s).
It's got some potentially useful features, could be worth investigating.

Longchops

Oct 15, 2020
I was having a look at some of these things mysef

Tbh I decided the technology isn't quite ready yet. The best streamers imo have the ability to play Hi Res files, but these ones all seem to cost well over a grand, way too much for me to consider spending. I think I'll wait a few years until the technology improves!

AVDude

Oct 17, 2020
AV Stream boxes:

1. They have a software dependency that isn't interoperable with your preferred source of audio
  2. The implementations are poorly done