Stereo suggestions for odd livingroom

Xelathur

Mar 24, 2016
Visit site
Hi Whathifi,

I'm moving flats shortly, and the new livingroom space is about 2.9m in width and 8.2 meters in length. In the middle of all this I will want a stereo setup. However, I have been rocking headphones for the last 6 years or so, and this is my re-entry to the world of the larger stuff!

Budget is about £1-2000, and the music I listen to is mainly on the heavier side and dynamic speakers would proably be the best bet.

Would something like Arcam A19 + Dali Ikon 6 MK2 be totally overkill for the type of livingroom?

#EDIT# Spotify and turntable/CD will be the inputs

BigH

Dec 29, 2012
Visit site
I think the room size is ok, will you have the speakers on the long wall or short?

My concern would be loud music in a flat, what about your neighbours. I would check that out first, you maybe better off buying a headphone system.

For heavy rock I don't rate the Arcam A19, for me its too polite, I would audition a Roksan Kandy K3 but there are loads of used K2s around for about £400 or less now. That will give you the power. i Have not heard it myself but Abrahamsen amplifiers have plenty of fans on here, see BlackSabbaths posts. Speakers are a matter of taste. Try brands like B&W, Kefs, IQ, Dyns and Dalis.

knaithrover

Nov 24, 2013
Visit site
Nad integrated amps (C320bee and above) + Dali is a good combo especially at lower volumes which is how you would be listening in a flat - unless your neighbours are very tolerant or deaf.

Xelathur

Mar 24, 2016
Visit site
BigH said:
I think the room size is ok, will you have the speakers on the long wall or short?

My concern would be loud music in a flat, what about your neighbours. I would check that out first, you maybe better off buying a headphone system.