Starting From Scratch ... With an MP3 library

xlider

May 3, 2013
Visit site
Hi,

I'm just discovering this forum and website, and love the info and the insights...

This being said, I am a newbie. I went from not having enough money to buy CDs, to not bothering as I had MP3s and other items. What I have today is a Mac, connected through an Airport express, and a small PC-type set of SONY speakers... An iPod, which I never really use, and an iPad, currently used as a remote for my Mac...

I listen to every kind of music, but felt lately quite limited in quality, when listening to classical (Dvorak, Janacek, Tchaikowski, Vivaldi,...), usually converted in FLAC.

With a budget of 750£, I'd like to get started... Two options I looked at:

- Start from my AEX, using the digital output, an amplifier or DAC + amplifier and new speakers. But there no idea of what to chose from.

- Log onto Sonos, with a bridge and a Sonos5, maybe later when richer going through the Connect + much better quality systems...

I would live to read what you think, for a little newbie

Thanks

Overdose

Feb 8, 2008
Visit site
xlider said:
Hi,

I'm just discovering this forum and website, and love the info and the insights...

This being said, I am a newbie. I went from not having enough money to buy CDs, to not bothering as I had MP3s and other items. What I have today is a Mac, connected through an Airport express, and a small PC-type set of SONY speakers... An iPod, which I never really use, and an iPad, currently used as a remote for my Mac...

I listen to every kind of music, but felt lately quite limited in quality, when listening to classical (Dvorak, Janacek, Tchaikowski, Vivaldi,...), usually converted in FLAC.

With a budget of 750£, I'd like to get started... Two options I looked at:

- Start from my AEX, using the digital output, an amplifier or DAC + amplifier and new speakers. But there no idea of what to chose from.