Speakers and cables - big improvements or not?

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the What HiFi community: the world's leading independent guide to buying and owning hi-fi and home entertainment products.

splasher

Jun 17, 2013
Visit site
So, being an engineer, I guess I'm inclined to be sceptical of things I don't understand. So I'm thinking that as long as I've got a decent x-sec OFC copper speaker cable, I'm probably not going to see much difference in the sound by spending more money on it.

I want to spend more money on my speakers than my amplifier and so I think the thing to do is to put my amp under my arm and take it to a shop to audition speakers to see which produce the nicest sound. Regardless they'll need messing around with when I get them home to get the room response right but at least if they produce a nice tone in the shop with my amp, I should have a reasonable chance of success.

I reckon the candidates are MA gold 300, Spendor D7, KEF R700 (900s probably physically too big).

Rethep

May 2, 2011
Visit site
millennia_one said:
No one here is going to try and sell you on the idea of 3k speakers. You just have to listen. And dont go putting 2-3k speakers on a £1000 amp it make no sense. I prefer to spend more money on the amp and have cheaper speakers driven to there best. Sounds far far better in my experance

Yes, i did!

To spend at least the same amount of money on both is o.k., i think.

Think of which music you listen to, which loudness level, and what kind of soundcharacter you like.

Good luck!

D

Deleted member 116933

hg said:
millennia_one said:
Personally in your case a demo at a dealer will be a waste of your time. You need to arrange a home demo with your preferred brands. And to be honest at this price no one makes a bad speaker and differences between brands will be marginal if any at all.