Speaker set up for new home for a newbie: KEF R300 + ??

vainbugger

Apr 13, 2014
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I have just gotten a new place and I am looking to set up a new hifi and cinema system. I have been to audition several speakers and I liked the B&W CM9, 685 and the KEF LS50s, R100, R300, R500s.

By some luck and coincidence, one of my close friends decided to let go of his pair of R300s and I took the chance to snap them up slightly cheaeper than the retail prices.

The problem is, as a relative newbie I am not quite sure how to match these with other equipment. My usage pattern would be about 70% music and 30% movies. I would appreciate some advice by the experienced folks on here as to how / what equipment would be suitable. My budget would be about 1500, if that makes sense.

One question I always wonder about is matching equipment from different brands. How difficult is this and will performance suffer? For example I like some of the Q Acoustics, B&W, KEF, etc. pieces so I was wondering if I could match say, the R300s at the front LR, maybe a B&W sub or center and Q Acoustics rears? Would that be a problem.

Centre speaker - I am looking at the R200c but there are some that mentioned i should be looking at the R600c which of course costs a whole lot more. Would the R200c really be that "poor" matching with the R300s.

Rear speakers - I am looking at possible pre-owned (pretty old) B&W DM302 as rears. Would this be a problem? Else does anyone would have a recommendation?

Subwoofer - reading the reviews I see that the PV1 or PV1D is an awesome subwoofer although I think that would blow my budget. Would the B&W 610 be alright?

AV Receiver - I have no real idea about this, but randomly after reading the reviews I am looking at the Denon x3000, Yamaha A1020, Yamaha V673?