Single wiring of bi-wired speakers?

adamopolis

Jan 23, 2013
Visit site
I have recently bought a pair of Monitor Audio BX2s and have not been blown away by the sound quality. However I recently realised that these speakers are intended to be bi-wired (4 ports on the back) and I have only connected two of these ports (to the woofers). Does this mean that if I now connect the other two ports (presumably to the tweeters) a whole new work of audio listening glory will open up before me?

I am new to this hi-fi business and had never heard of biwiring until a few days ago. I would just test this but am not at home for another week and am very curious to find out just how stupid I have been :)

ellisdj

Dec 11, 2008
Visit site
If there is nothing linking the 2 sets of binding post together then yes you have them wired wrong.

Speakers normally come with a filthy bit of metal between the 2 sets of posts creating the link. I find its better to have the exact same wire in between the 2 as you are using as speaker wire.

If the speakers do not have anything there and you have bought them used you can use some mains cable, you must have an old extension socket cable or something lying around and cut that down and use it for now - you can get some proper speaker wire in thete after if you feel the need.

If you bought them new then they should have a bit of metal in there - you can try changing that out for some proper speaker wire

I would also advise actually trying them wired the other way - wire into the tweeter and then link down to the woofer - i find my MA speakers sound much better that way

All these ways will make a big difference over nothing being there

adamopolis

Jan 23, 2013
Visit site
But with my current setup (only one set of binding posts connected) am I only sending a signal to one of the drivers in each speaker?? (i think it is the woofers)