Should I bi-wire a set of Monitor Audio RS1s to a Cambridge Audio 640 v2 amp?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi everyone,

First of all, hi to one and all...

I'm relatively new to all of this. I have a Cambridge Audio 640 v2 amp and CD player, coupled with a pair of Monitor Audio RS1s. I had been bi-wiring them. However, as a result of one of the speakers crackling , I gave the cables a clean (the problem seems to be gone now!!) , and it got me thinking, should I go back to bi-wire, or simply stick to the one set of cables...

The cables I use are "Monitor Audio Pureflow high performance silver speaker cable"

Also, can someone suggest a better, affordable cable than the one mentioned above

I'd appreciate any guidance...

Thanks

smuggs

Feb 19, 2009
Visit site
i would really not bother bi-wire i would remove the jumpers and us some of the same cable as jumpers and see how you get on. I would guess it will sound good. But it really is a try both ways and see.

A

Anonymous

Hi micko35

Apologies for going off your subject matter partly...I have the 640 combo and have just upgraded my cables to chord siverscreen/crimson in an effort to calm some pretty bad brightness in sibilant vocals..the usual suspects sss tttt etc

They have helped only slightly with the top end and more strongly with the bass end plus sounding more open which is a plus.

I'm using 9.1's Do you experience any the brightness I describe and do you think I can get rid of it?

Cheers

Mike

A

Anonymous

Stick with one more expensive run of speaker cable, then cut off some jumper cables from the end of it.

Used to have the 640 amp and cd player, they did have a forward top end, and the chord did sort it a bit, but I was using an atlas equator mk2 as interconnect.

A

Anonymous