Sansui AU-7500 and TRIANGLE ALTEA EX

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello,

This is my first time in this forum.

I have got two years ago a gift from my father, a Sansui AU-7500 that he both when he was young.

I have used it alway with Magnepan speakers ( another gift of my uncle ) but no idea of the model.

Unfortunately moving them, or for old age reasons, no idea, the tweeter of one speaker is gone, and they told me that fixing it is expansive as buying new speakers.

I found for a good price two speakers Triangle, the altea ex. Do you think that my old sansui ampli can drive them? If not, is there a medium budget amplifier ( Marantz 7004 ? ) more indicated than the sansui?

Thanks a lot

oldric_naubhoff

Mar 11, 2011
Visit site
your Sansui amp will drive those Triangles with ease. they are quite sensitive and an easy load so your amp will have no trouble driving them. in fact it will have an easier time with Triangle than it had with Magnepans. what worries me though, is that you might have a hard time getting used to sound of box speakers having had planars all that time.

BTW, have you checked if any of the fuses are blown? maybe that'll tell you why you lost your tweeter.

A

Anonymous

Thanks for the advice...

Yes I have checked the fuse, I tried with a 'working' fuse that i take from the Sansui, unfortunately it didn't work...

Tomorrow maybe I'll search for the correct fuse to have a try, but I tried also with the multimeeter on the copper juncions and really seems that something went wrong.

About these triangle speakers, are they a good buy? I found them ( in switzerland ) for something like 1k Euros

oldric_naubhoff

Mar 11, 2011
Visit site
deeru said:
About these triangle speakers, are they a good buy? I found them ( in switzerland ) for something like 1k Euros