Rotel RA -04 + Paradigm Mini Monitors V.6

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi Guys,

Its my first time on the forum and i'm pretty new to the Hi-FI world in anycase. I did a bit of auditioninig over the last week or so for a budget level cd + amp + speakers in Singapore. The combo of a Rotel RA-05 + Paradigm Mini Mons v.6s sounded beautiful, composed, clear and having a decent punch.
The orther auditions included the usual combos of NAD + CA budget systems with wither Dali Lektors2 or Diamonds 9.1, 10.1 s but all of them fell short in terms of overal quality.

However, i have one concern other than not knowing about the Paradigm brand prior to hearing them. Would the combo of RA-04 plus Mini Mons be too harsh when i listen to slighlty lower grade recording such as tracks bought online and converted to CD quality?

I CD with such a track did sound a bit bright..would an accurate speaker such as a mini fail to hide quality imperfections?

Thinking of pairing it with a Marantz CD5003...as my budget has been overshot on account of the Mini Mons.

Any thoughts would be very welcome...

Cheers Guys

Akshay

A

Anonymous

I would like to clarify - I auditioned a RA -05 as the RA-04 was not in stock but will end up purchasing the RA -04s when available....

A

Anonymous

I would highly recommend purchasing an external dac like the Beresford Dac 7520 or the VDac or the CA Dac Magic, since as you said, you will be using music from a computer source and assuming your current sound card isn't that great, then this will improve things greatly and in fact will sound better than a budget cd player.

A

Anonymous

I've got to say, I'm in the same boat as you in terms of being new to this.