Advice on new Rotel/B&W hi-fi set up please

Hi

I am relatively new to high quality hi-fi. I've been doing some research, listened to systems in shops and read reviews but I need some more advice please!

I want a high quality (a relative opinion I know) system to enjoy CDs (such as The Beatles remasters/in MONO, classical music etc). I also want to 'pump' my TV through the system (I have an LG panel with all the usual digital/optical outputs). I also want to stream music from my i-devices via bluetooth. In summary: I require: CD player, bluetooth, digital/optical inputs (and therefore DAC), good speakers + a phono stage (for later addition of turntable).

I am considering a Rotel RA-11 + Rotel RCD-12 + B&W CM1s. What's the problem? Price. It's too expensive!

The RA-11 seems to meet all my needs. I think it is a good compromise rather than the RA-12 which is £100 more- although £500 is still quite a lot

The RCD-12 is expensive... but it seems excellent. I was impressed when listening to it (with B&W 386 S2s and the CM1s). Could I get a cheaper CD player? Will I regret it in years to come if I do?

The speakers... I tried B&W 386 S2s and CM1 S2s. The CM1s were better. I couldn't try 385 S2s as they didn't have any- but I hear they are amazing and they are £150 less. CM1s or 385s with the Rotel set up above? Maybe the 386 S2 would do? Could someone advise whether they would recommend the 385s over the CM1s? £150 price difference is quite significant.

All advice gratefully received.

BigH

Dec 29, 2012
Visit site
My advise is don't buy B&W speakers for classical music, they maybe ok for pop/rock but for classical I would choose something more neutral, maybe Kefs.

Tom Auld said:
Hi

I am relatively new to high quality hi-fi. I've been doing some research, listened to systems in shops and read reviews but I need some more advice please!