Rookie here!

proklos

Jan 4, 2016
Visit site
Hi guys! My girlfriend just bought me a turntable and I discovered that my father has a huge vinyl collection. I got really fast into the idea of setting up my own system but since I have zero experience with audio equipment I have a few questions.. (like how can all of you not be broke already:p)

After browsing the site and the forums I am leaning towards buying a pair of monitor audio BX2s. My turntable has intergrated speakers so I am guessing there is some sort of amplifier in there, but will it be enough? (it has only one pair of stereo outputs) Will I need additional devices (pre amp - final amp - maybe just an amp?)

Are these two speakers enough to support adding my tv into the equation? Or is it silly to do so without a sub and a center piece? Do I need these extra speakers for music anyway?

I understand I must sound like child to you guys but I am really enthusiastic and looking forward to your feedback!

iMark

proklos said:
My turntable has intergrated speakers so I am guessing there is some sort of amplifier in there, but will it be enough? (it has only one pair of stereo outputs) Will I need additional devices (pre amp - final amp - maybe just an amp?)

I don't want to be too negative, but one of those turntables aren't considered HiFi. At best, they don't damage your precious records. I have had a look at these players like Crossley and Ion. They are plastic rubbish. I think it's unbelieivable that there are people that will spend the equivalent of €20 or more on a record and then play them on a player of around €100.

For proper HiFi playback you need a turntable with at least a moving magnet cartridge, needle pressure that you can set on the tonearm and anti-skating. Then you need an integrated amp and a pair of speakers.

proklos

Jan 4, 2016
Visit site