Replace my 35+ year-old Creek?

dave selim

Dec 20, 2022
Visit site
First post here. Lately, have been wondering how my Creek 4140s2 measures up to some of today's integrated amplifiers. Or in other words, what I have been missing out on?

I have been using the same basic setup since I purchased them all around the same time in the late 80's/1990:

Rega planar 3 (greatly modified),
Heybrook HB100 speakers w dedicated Heybrook stands
and the aforementioned Creek
(also a Marantz CD player - HD1).

I've had the Creek serviced a few times over the years for small things (which in turn improved the design a little) and I've basically left the thing on since Roy Hall of Music Hall told me once over the phone that it would live longer if I did. I guess he was right, because here we are 35 years later!

Anyway, with the exception of changing out to different cartridges, this is what I've been listening with for 35+ years. IME it has a lot of synergy. The Creek is a great amp -- in fact, the only thing I have a problem with, is that the sound tends to get a bit "white" ish when pushed.

So, it's a toss between "don't fix what ain't broken" and being curious about what a change to more “modern“ amplification would bring. I'm not interested in changing out the speakers or the modded Rega table.

I have been looking a lot at the Rega Elex-r lately and wondering ...

Thank you for any comments, opinions, suggestions on pairing with the Heybrooks etc.

matthewpianist

The Creek was (and still is) a nice amp, and I'd counsel caution. The best thing you can do is to focus in on a couple of options and organise a home demo with a suitable retailer.

You may wish to try the new 4040A - https://www.creekaudio.com/products/