Questions from a Newbie

Echoplex

Sep 9, 2013
Visit site
Hey,

Sorry if all these questions sound completely simple or have been answered but I am quite new to whole audio thing. I was clearing out the loft the other day and found my dad's amp (pioneer a-400) and the CD, turn table, tuner and tape separates to match.

Rather than get rid of it I am interested in setting it up so I can use it, my only problem is everything I want to connect to the amp is modern stuff like MP3 players, phones, laptops and games consoles etc, so I have a few questions mainly out of interest;

1. Am I right in thinking that things I want to connect are digital and the amp I have is analogue? Is this what a DAC is for, do you just connect all your digital stuff to the DAC which converts back to analogue and then connect that to the amp?

2. The DAC I looked at didn't say analogue out but said phono out, my amp has phono in, how is this different to the other analogue inputs, i.e the ones the cd player, tape deck, turn table and tuner would plug into?

3. Is analogue sound better or worse than digital and does converting digital to analogue via a DAC reduce the sound quality?

Sorry the post is so long and full of questions but thank you to anyone who takes the time to help me out,

Thanks

Chris

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site
Echoplex said:
3. Is analogue sound better or worse than digital and does converting digital to analogue via a DAC reduce the sound quality?

You can't listen to "digital" sound directly, it's basically noise, so you have to convert it to analogue, so don't worry about that.

The DAC should say line-out, rather than phono out (what DAC is it?), the Phono In on your amp will be specifically designed for a Turntable, you shouldn't plug anything other than a turntable into that input (and only a Turntable that doesn't have a phono stage built-in to it already as well).

BigH

Dec 29, 2012
Visit site