Primare or Naim

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi, i am a newbie and currently had a Arcam Alpha 9, 9P and 9 CDP. I am thinking about upgrading. I struck between Primare Pre30 , A30.2, CD31 and Naim 202/200, CDX2. The Primare set are smooth and warm sounding while Naim are pretty good in the pace and attack. I am in dilemma. Any advice would be appreciated.

A

Anonymous

You seem to know what you're talking about, you've really answered your own question. When spending that much money it is essential to go and test them. Only you can decide.

What speakers are you using btw...ÿ

A

Anonymous

i am using mission 782 now. I had intention to sell my whole setup and get a new one. I always heard that Naim sound good on pop and rock music. But a visit to my Naim dealer the 202/200/CDX2 with neat speaker sound great on vocal too and i am very impress. On the other end the Primare Pre30/A30.2/CD31 with MA speaker sound smooth and laid back. Now i am really struck.

A

Anonymous

Well which do you prefer??? I have a Naim set up because I love the exciting sound that sounds great with every kind of music. Not many amps achieve this. For this I put up with it looking like a pimped out paving slab.

That Neat set up would be good though, can you not afford that?.....ÿ

A

Anonymous

I used to have Primare A20/D20 at one point of time and sold the pair for a Naim Nait 5i/CD5i and now 202/200 and CDX2. I like the way Naim sound with its PRAT and since when does Naim only sounds good on rock and pop? I find them are pretty all rounder but by saying this doesn't mean the Primare are not good.As what you mention earlier on they are laid back and smooth sounding absolute no dount bout it. So the final question is , which do you prefer as you are going to set a huge among of money for either set. But i doubt you will go wrong with either one.

A

Anonymous