PC audio and DAC advice needed

chrisj2

Sep 14, 2010
Visit site
[size=3>Hi all,

Im just starting out down the computer audio route thanks to my nad cd player giving up on me and at the same time moving to a flat where, try as I may, I can’t fit my cd’s in. To be honest there is a lot of information out there and having read a lot of it im still slightly confused so I was wondering if anyone had any advice.

My current starting set-up is the Realtek Audio HD card in my PC connected via 3.5mm jack to a 320bee nad amp then onto Quad 11L speakers.

Ive got two questions really:
Hi all,

Im just starting out down the computer audio route thanks to my nad cd player giving up on me and at the same time moving to a flat where, try as I may, I can’t fit my cd’s in. To be honest there is a lot of information out there and having read a lot of it im still slightly confused so I was wondering if anyone had any advice.

My current starting set-up is the Realtek Audio HD card in my PC connected via 3.5mm jack to a 320bee nad amp then onto Quad 11L speakers.

Ive got two questions really:

Alec

Oct 8, 2007
Visit site
I'll have a stab and then those more qualified and articulate might weigh in.

The benefit of a DAC is simply that it should make things sound, well, better; more like listening to a decent CD player than a PC (a kind of Jack of all trades).

As for the second question, I can't speak for the Behringer, but I had an old version of the Beresford and it was well worth the money at the time, though I think the current model is more expensive.

Your PC will need an optical or coaxial port (depending which DAC you go for) to connect to a DAC.

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
al7478:Your PC will need an optical or coaxial port (depending which DAC you go for) to connect to a DAC.

...Or a USB socket, again depending on the DAC...

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site