NuForce Icon-2 (18w pc@8ohm) drive B&W DM685. Is it a bad idea?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,
First of all I admit I'm new to the hifi world. Still learning and asking stupid questions around
laugh.gif

The background is that I have a small creative D100 active speaker. To me it plays pretty loud and room filling (5m*5m). But after checking the specs, I'm surprised to see its output power is only 2*2W. Then I was just thinking even if I bought a super 100W pc amplifier plus two DM685 speakers, all I need would still be say 5-10W power from these guys to fill my room and meet my own level of loudness requirements
smile.gif
. Then, this small desktop amp, NuForce ICON-2, came into my radar, with 18W pc output.

On the speaker side, I was looking for those with 5" or 6.5" woofers and then found BW's DM685, DM686, and Scandyna's Minipod quite good and fit my needs.

My question is can this little desktop amp drive these speakers? Does this combination make sense? Appreciate if you guys can share your thoughts.

drummerman

Jan 18, 2008
Visit site
Complex issue but if using reasonably sensitive speakers, most people will not normally use more than 10w. These 10 watts will/can go pretty loud and are in some ways the most important ones.

Whether your '18 watt into 8ohm' amplifier will have sufficient headroom or dynamic ability to properly convey musical peaks on well recorded music in a 'live like' manner, or more pointedly to the best ability of the media used (as opposed to just being 'loud') is another question. - You are also more likely to damage speakers by pushing your amplifier into clipping. Then there's the issue of varying driver impedances, your amplifiers ability to control drivers and more to make life a little easier for you ...

On a positive note, I am having fish for dinner and am really looking forward to it.

Have fun

regards

A

Anonymous

Hej drummerman,