Newbies first setup

Robbo_123

Nov 24, 2016
Visit site
Hi All,

This will be my first post here, I'm pretty much a complete beginner when it comes to audio equipment. So I have been having a shop around and been getting a bit of advice. What is your view on the following combination?

Project Essential 3 turntable

Cambridge CXA60 amp

Monitor Audio Silver 1 speakers

I don't have a massive house so volume etc won't be an issue and I'm really just looking at getting into vinyl.

thanks,

Ben

Hi Ben, and welcome to the forum.

The challenge for those of us who grew up with LPs in advising on the resurgent interest in vinyl is in getting the best results for the outlay. Frankly, for your budget, a cd system will give better results. And both hardware and software are cheaper for CDs. However, that wasn't the question!

If I've not misread the specs I think your proposed amp is overequipped with a DAC you don't need, but has no phono stage. For half the price, I'd get a Onkyo A9010, and spend double on the turntable/cartridge.

Try to hear as many systems as possible, and then decide. You could get used speakers to save money at first, or start with cd and save for a really good turntable.

Robbo_123

Nov 24, 2016
Visit site
Thanks for your input. I initially looked at the amp you mentioned but a few people have mentioned that Japanese amps tend to loose some of the middle notes. I'm mainly listening to Rock, Punk, Ska etc. I could up the turntable to the Project Debut Carbon if that is a good idea. I honestly don't really have much idea about cartridges etc and you're right I would need a pre amp with the Cambridge amp. I do like the idea of a British made product though...

Robbo_123 said: