Newbie in need of help with 1st System

keoq86

Jul 26, 2016
Visit site
Hi, I'm new to What Hi Fi and the world of hi fi's in general. I have always dabbled with music and have a passion for listening to all genres of music. In the past I have had CD players, Mini systems, iPod docks and a year or so ago I was bought a Sonos.

But this year I turned 30 and after visiting a friends house and listening to his system (Cambridge Audio, not sure what model) I decided I wanted to venture into getting my own system and getting the funds together to get something. So I was wondering as a start what would be a decent system to begin with. I have a budget of about £400, not a lot I know (but I recently got married and have little expendable cash).

I have a few dozen lps, close to a thousand CDs if not more and enjoy listening to the radio (DAB stations in particular) and of course have a iPhone stocked with albums and playlists.

Many help you can give would be brilliant.

Thanks in advance.

james_LR90

Aug 17, 2010
Visit site
NVA do a £300 starter system consisting of the P20 pre amp and A20 power amp. It also includes a set of interconnects and speaker cables. You would then need to add speakers and if I was you I would be looking at a pair of JPW or whatever else takes your fancy. This is worth serious consideration and if it was my money it is the way I would be heading!

Leeps

Dec 10, 2012
Visit site
Personally I'd be looking at maximising your budget by spending on components wisely. One benefit of separates is that you can gradually add components over time. Looking at your post, you have lots of CD's and if you can use your phone with your hifi, you can instantly access your albums and playlists plus internet radio.

You don't have so many vinyl albums. So I would spend your budget initially on CD, amp and speakers and add a turntable when funds allow.