Newbie Help

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi As a newbie I'm hoping all you experts can give me some advice. I have an ageing hi-fi system (made up of a Philips CD player out of the Ark, a Technics SU-VX600 amp and Mordaunt-Short 3.2 speakers) which I intend to upgrade or replace with a home cinema system. The added complication is that my music source will be CDs and a NAS device(files in WMA lossless format). The ideal solution would be a home cinema in a box that still has hi-fi quality for cd playback but would also have an ethernet connection to be able to process WMA lossless files from the NAS. Failing that should I go for a bluray player (with good CD playback quality) which can handle WMA lossless format? So far I have only found the Marantz UD5005 Bluray play which seems to fit the bill. This player supports FLAC and WMA. I have asked Marantz to confirm if the player can handle the WMA lossless format but at least if their machine supports FLAC I don't mind coverting WMA to FLAC if necessary. If bluray/home cinema systems are unable to meet these requirements are there any CD players that could be linked to a NAS to play WMA or FLAC lossless files? Many thanks for any guidance you can provide.

strapped for cash

Aug 17, 2009
Visit site
Separates would be a much better choice in my opinion, unless you're really pushed for space.

All in one systems won't match a comparably priced separate system, especially if you're looking for hi-fi quality audio. In fact, home cinema systems generally mean stereo performance is compromised; and unless you're spending a lot of money, you won't find a home cinema system capable of anything approaching audiophile quality stereo.