New system for a newbie - to include some form of spotify/laptop connection

tangfastic1

Aug 29, 2015
Visit site
Hi, I'm new to the world of Hi-fi systems, I'm fed up of listening to music through headphones, laptop speaks and poor quality computer speakers. I've got a budget of around £500, not opposed to going second hand and the room size is 16' X 12', unfortunately I am unable to fit floor standers in this room currently. I use Spotify a lot for music and I like the idea of utilising spotify connect, which has lead me to look at the Marantz M-CR610 as it seems to offer this capability. The Cd player is not so useful for me, as my other source of music would be files on my laptop. Is there an alternative receiver that I could use with a seperate amplifer that would still enable me to use my laptop and Spotify? I've been reading that the sound quality is likely to be better with a dedicated amplifer. In terms of the type of music I listen to, it's incredibly varied. I quite heavy metal industrial music, Uk Hiphop, various bass heavy electronic music, rock and indie music. I know for my budget and size restraints, I will be restricted in what I can go for. Could someone offer me some advice on the above (Spotify/laptop receiver, amplifier,speakers)? I'm based near Stoke on Trent if anyone can recommend any shops to try out. Sorry for the essay, thanks in advance for any advice, Cheers *Edit* - Sorry, my paragraphs don't seem to have worked

MajorFubar

Mar 3, 2010
Visit site