New Hi-Fi is a bit poppy.

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi everyone, I'd be very grateful if someone could give me some advice? I've recently bought my first separates stereo, after many hours of auditioning, and now I have got in home it seems to be a little "poppy" (in a bad way) in that, on high notes in particular, there is a sort of pop that precedes the sound.

The setup in question is a rotel ra-05se (ex-demo) amp, ra-06se CD player with a chord company cobra plus interconnect, then B&W 685 speakers with chord company rumour 2 cable.

Is there something in this setup that could be causing this pop? I suspect the cable - there's great clarity, but the salesman said it was a little bright. If I were going to change the cable does anyone have any suggestions for keeping the clarity while curbing this pop?

The only other though I had was that something might be broken, but I've got no experience to be able to tell. Can anyone help?

Thanks

Mat

Blackdawn

May 7, 2010
Visit site
I've been using the Rumour 2 before the Van Damme as I wanted to try something different. The rumour 2 had a neutral tone in my system and didn't seem bright. I think because the wire is silver coated they assume it will be bright.

First off make sure all connections are correct with speaker cable and interconnects.

What sound level are using using the system at when you get the popping sound? Are you playing it too loud and it is clipping? It could be the amp or speakers. Also do you have the setup near anything that might cause interference to the system?

I would check the amp first and if you have a spare set of speaker use them to rule out a speaker problem. You could try taking the amp back to store and saying it is not right. Also is it something simple like the cd player is skipping?

Overdose

Feb 8, 2008
Visit site