Need YOUR HELP! on speaker choice!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
OK so here's the deal. I'm a newb when it comes to Hifi and this will be my first little setup.
I'm planning on using my set for 70% music 30% Home Cinema. I am very confused right now because I read a lot of reviews and user opinions! Hope you guys can help me make a choice!

Musical preference: Hip Hop, Funk, Soul, Jazz, RnB, Blues, Reggae, OST, Classical (sometimes).

Additional notes: I have a big room so floorstanders is a must. Bass is very important to me.

I have selected a few speakers:

-KEF IQ 90 (can get em for a sweet deal 565 euro a piece)
-B&W 684 or 683s (683 would hurt my budget though)
-Monitor Audio RX-6 or RX-8 (RX-8 would hurt my budget)
-Mordaunt Short Mezzo 6 or 8 (can get the 6 for 399 euros a piece)
-Wharfdale Diamond 10.7

I am planning to pair one of these with a Pioneer SC-LX81.

I am leaning towards the Mezzo 6 because of the sweet deal I can get for these and I heard a lot of good things about 'em. But I don't know if they would pair well with a Pioneer reciever. And I love me some good bass which some people say these can lack.

Any advice, tips or recommendations would be appreciated! Help I'm confused!

Thanks!

A

Anonymous

You don't say what the rest of your kit is and many on here will agree that matching is important.

However it doesn't change the advice that is the most important, especially with speakers - go listen to them for yourself and take your time!

Forums such as these are littered with stories of people who rushed into buying a pair, only to go through a number of (expensive) changes before they finally found what they really liked (and matched their kit).

Don't place much if any store by recommendations, trust your own ears as speakers are surely the most personal of choices when it comes to hifi.

Good luck.

A

Anonymous

Thanks for your reply.