Need help to choose Cartridge etc..

GeorgePt

Aug 11, 2013
Visit site
Hi there,i'm new to analog audio and i want some advice about a system i want to buy. First for turntable i'm thinking of Pro-ject Debut Carbon but im confused about the cartridge,OM10 or 2M Red? There are comments about 2M Red such as tracking distortion,very bright and very clinically detailed in its presentation,pick up a lot of surface noise. I have some old LPs and i don't want much of surface noise. Is OM10 better with this issue? Also for speakers im going for Wharfedale Diamond 121 and for amp Yamaha AS-500. If it plays a role my bedroom is small so i think the 121 will be good enough for metal,hardcore,punk etc music right?

stevebrock

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
How about a Nagaoka MP-110, I bought one as a spare and very surprised at how good it is, bright it is definately not, just calmer than the 10 x 5.

I find that background noise has dropped away compared to my Dynavector 10 x 5.

I got mine off a german ebay seller for £89.99 delivered - bargain if you ask me!

As for your amp & speakers - it will be a nice little system.

drummerman

Jan 18, 2008
Visit site
GeorgePt said:
Hi there,i'm new to analog audio and i want some advice about a system i want to buy. First for turntable i'm thinking of Pro-ject Debut Carbon but im confused about the cartridge,OM10 or 2M Red? There are comments about 2M Red such as tracking distortion,very bright and very clinically detailed in its presentation,pick up a lot of surface noise. I have some old LPs and i don't want much of surface noise. Is OM10 better with this issue? Also for speakers im going for Wharfedale Diamond 121 and for amp Yamaha AS-500. If it plays a role my bedroom is small so i think the 121 will be good enough for metal,hardcore,punk etc music right?