Need for Amp / Receiver with Denon DHT-FS3 Soundbar?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi

I'm looking into adding a Blu-ray player and the Denon DHT-FS3 Soundbar to my Panasonic 37 inch plasma (TH37PX80). I'm favouring a Panasonic Blu-ray (BMP-BD35 or BMP-BD55 probably) to take advantage of the Viera link.

I'm not looking to link the Soundbar to any other AV equipment just the TV and the Blu-ray player. Do I need to invest in a separate Amp / Receiver? I'm new to the home cinema game so forgive the noddy question!

I'm guessing one analogue connection from TV to Soundbar and an HDMI cable from Blu-ray to Soundbar would be all I would require and it looks as though the Soundbar has sufficient inputs for this.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

d4v3pum4

Nov 15, 2008
Visit site
The soundbar has a built in amp, so no external amplification required.

As an aside, what is the big advantage with these control systems such as Viera link?

A

Anonymous

Thanks for that, would be interested to hear any other advice/comments people may have.

As far as I can work out the only advantage of the Viera link is that it saves on the number of remotes you need and also the number of buttons you need to press as the TV / Bluray will talk to each other. There's no performance improvements just convenience.

d4v3pum4

Nov 15, 2008
Visit site
There has to be more to it than that. I have a Sony LCD and DVD player in the bedroom and can use either remote to control them. That said I use harmony remotes on my systems so the remote count is not an issue. Anyway, I'm just curious as to why people keep bringing up Viera, Bravia link et al when choosing kit. It doesn't enter my head when choosing equipment to be honest. I would be interested to hear other peoples thoughts on it though......

A

Anonymous