Need for a DAC?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I'm a newbie looking to purchase my first Hi-Fi setup and a despite doing a fair amount of research I would be hugely grateful if someone could just give me a confidence-boosting confirmation as to what I need.

I want to be able to play music through my laptop into the Hi-Fi, so am I correct in thinking that all I need would be a DAC, amplifier and speakers?

I'm on a fairly tight budget so am currently looking at the Cambridge Audio DACmagic, Marantz PM6003/ Cambridge Audio Azur 340A SE/ Cambridge Audio Azur 550A, Monitor Audio Bronze BX2/ Wharfedale 9.1/ Wharfedale 10.1.

From what I've read the combinations of Marantz PM6003 + Monitor Audio Bronze BX2 and the Cambridge Audio amps + the Wharfedale speakers seem to work complimentary to their components.

So do you have any thoughts on this set-up? I wouldn't need any more than the 3 mentioned components would I?

Thanks so much for the help!

Rob

shafesk

Sep 18, 2010
Visit site
hi Rob, welcome to the forums. I see you have done your homework. I previously had a 340 se with a dac magic soyou might find my opinion useful. I paired them with Mordaunt Shor Mezzo 6s and they sounded great. You could try the Mezzo 1 bookshelves I think the Cambridge Audio and Mordaunt Short synergy is great. The pm6003 is a great amp and it is often paired with the monitor audios but I have not heard the combination myself. I think either of the combos should be nice but I wouldn't pair the CA amp and MA speakers as they might sound bright together.

Let us kow how you get on,

Shafin

A

Anonymous

Hi shafesk, thanks for the response.