NAD vs. Cambridge Audio

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am a newbie and trying to buy an entry-level CD player. I listen to pop, rocks and extremely interested in vocal. I hate "muddy" sound and prefer a more dynamic details.

Here is what I have -

NAD C355BEE Stereo Integrated Amplifier (new)
Paradigm Studio 20v 4 bookshelf speakers (used)

I have auditioned for a few CD players, and cannot make up my mind. Grateful if you can give me some comments, either user expeirence or impression with the brand/made

1. NAD C 545BEE
2. NAD C 565BEE
3. Cambridge Audio 640 C V2
4. Cambridge Audio 740 C

Looking from brand(origin) perspective, NAD offers a
warmest sound - if I use NAD 545/565 + my Amp (NAD 355) + Paradigm
Studio speakers ~ a Full Canadian brand - will the overall output be
"too warm"
confused.gif

Or should I better off using the British sound (i.e. Cambridge) to neutralize a bit.Thanks!

T

the record spot

Brand synergy then you have your Cambridge, but it may be on listening that you think the better synergy comes from a mix of brands. The choice of speaker has an impact too in the overall combination. So, if you can try them out before buying, do.

matthewpiano

I'd be giving the Cambridge 640C a good demo, or the new 650C.

The NAD amps are excellent, but I'm less convinced about their CD players.

As Record Spot advises, an audition is vital particularly as you are clearly after a particular sound. I'm not familiar with your speakers so I don't know what effect they will have on the overall presentation.

A

Anonymous

Actually, at its current price the Harman Kardon HD 990 seems to be the bargain of the moment. Even has inputs so you can use its DACs for something like an Airport Express if you decide to move in that direction.

jaxwired

Feb 7, 2009
Visit site