My home theatre setup...your views please

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

Have been auditioning a lot of speakers and amplifiers for a good entry level 5.1 setup which can also handle music very well, and I have finally zeroed in on the following setup..I am new to the hifi world so would be great if you guys can share your views whether this is good or should I look at anything else..Remember, I am on a budget, and this setup is stretching it to the hilt almost..

Mordaunt-Short Avant 904i as front speakers

Mordaunt-Short Avant 905i as centre

Wharfedale Diamond 9.0 as the surrounds

Subwoofer MS Avant 309i or Wharfedale SW150 (these are front firing, would bottom firing be better for placement?)

Cambridge Azur 340R 5.1 A/V Receiver

Cambridge Azur 540D (V2) DVD player

Getting 16 gauge OFC cabling done for all the speakers

fatboyslimfast

Jan 10, 2008
Visit site
Hiya, you might be better off posting this in the home cinema forum on this site, as the peeps here tend to be more stereo-oriented.

However, just a quick one - is there a reason for not considering the 902i's as the surround? Just thinking that it might be better to keep all from one manufacturer, as their "sound" will then be similar throughout...

As to the sub, it shouldn't matter whether it's bottom or front firing - both should be non-directional and can be placed pretty much anywhere in the room...

A

Anonymous

hi, thanks for the input..the only reason for not considering the 902i are that they can't be put onto brackets on the wall (thats what the retailer told me dunno whether right or wrong)..they are slightly heavy though 5.5 kg i think..and i will post this in the home cinema section, thanks for the tip..

A

Anonymous