My hi fi project - advice & suggestions welcome.

rjjackson

Nov 8, 2013
Visit site
Right then,

I've recently come into possession of some Wharfedale Valdus 500 speakers. These are the old versions (but practically unchanged) of the current Xarus 5000 speakers seen here:

http://www.hughesdirect.co.uk/hi-fi/hifi-speaker/wha-xarus5000-black/product

What I'm looking to do is replace the drivers as they're shot, possibly the tweeter (was prone to blowing) and anything else you guys can suggest to improve the functionality of these floorstanders - further insulation, porting etc. Then I'm looking for advice on a suitable amplifier with the power to drive my creation to the fullest.

I have to admit I've only touched active speakers in the past (last set up was 2 Mackie SRM 450's) so I'm a complete novice with building a functioning tower and matching a suitable amplifier. I've found multiple 8" drivers on eBay for relatively cheap but I'm unsure which will be suitable for what amplifier.

If you're able to offer me some advice I would like to clarify some points:

1) This speaker will be used for music only and used at very high volumes. I'm hosting a party which is the sole function of these units. I'm not interested in clear, high fidelity and accurate sound. I'll be happy to compromise on those points for a larger sound footprint, heavier bass and a more general 'night club' feeling.

2) The music that will be played will be a mixture of: House music, current and past chart / dance anthems. Nothing too technical or demanding.

3) The room size is approx 30m by 30m and will be catering for approximately 30 - 40 people.

4) I'm looking to surpass the sound offered by the current Xarus 5000 for relatively the same price.

5) Looking to spend up to £200 for a suitable amlifier - second hand if it means I can get a higher performance unit.

So there we go, I don't ask for much do I?!