Maplin £2.99 speaker cable Vs Chord Rumour

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I have been using Chord Rumour speaker cable for about 3 years now and been very happy with it along with my Rega R3's, however i decided to visit Maplin today to buy some "cheap" speaker cable for my 2nd system. I came away with a few metres of £2.99 Oyygen Free Copper cable. Out of curiosity i decided to try it with my Cyrus/Arcam/Rega setup and to my surprise after about 10 mins, i realised that i prefered the sound of the "cheap stuff" compared to my Rumour which was incidently £10 per metre. Now i'm not saying it is "better" but just that i prefer the sound, a little less harsh perhaps but not lacking any of the detail. I know there have been various debates about the merits of expensive cabling but i must admit i have been very, very surprised. I think the cable is staying for the moment.

A

Anonymous

chiefbrody: i prefer the sound, a little less harsh perhaps but not lacking any of the detail.

Perhaps you intrinsically prefer a less forward or less trebly sound?

A

Anonymous

You may well be right. Just goes to show the value of listening to your own ears though!

A

Anonymous

Not the result you would expect, but it does show at least in chiefbrodys case that not all cables sound the same....I changed my speaker cable to some chord carnival silver from QED silver bi wire and my interconnect from a QED silver spiral to Van de hul The Name and the differnce was quite prononced(better)....In fact by far the biggest differnce ive heard cable make in my system

aliEnRIK

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
I go on a few hifi forums and one guy SWORE by a lot of Maplins stuff and to his mind you cant physically get better speaker cable than maplins due to the geometry, the copper used and the impedance factor

Id have to disagree and say you CAN get better, but his point is its EXTREMELY fine for the price

A

Anonymous