Looking for a budget Hifi amp

Hey,

I'm new to the hifi world. I had an old Pioneer SA5500 and now my old rotel RA611 broke down. I'm tired of buying old amps that die on me after a few years, so want to go for a new amp. My budget is €400 (about £300). I have old speakers from Audio Professional. They were bought in the early 80s, were made in Belgium back then and weren't cheap. Apparently they were sold with Luxman amps back then here in Belgium. I want to change them when I have more money. It's important for me to have 2 pair of speaker outputs. I wanted to buy the Onkyo A9010, which had a great review here What's Hifi, but only has 1 pair of speakeroutputs. I like a warm sound, without losing the clear highs.

At the moment I'm looking at the following amps:

Marantz PM 5005: This is my top pick at the moment. Marantz is known fot it's warm and musical sound and I can get this one for €300. Marantz seems to still have a good reputation on build and sound quality. The PM6005 had a great review on what Hifi and has 5 watts more and a digital input, bit this doen't interest me. I'm not sure if the 5005 sounds the same as the 6005 though.

Denon PMA-720AE: This one is also well within my budget, I can get it for €229. The Denon also got a good review, but has a tight and snappy sound, but according to what hifi doesn't loosen up with more laid back music. I do'nt know if I would hear this as a newbie.

Onkyo A9030: the bigger brother from the A9010, but lacks in punch and attack in the low frequencies. The Marantz PM6005 was better at this, so I thought the PM 5005 would be a better option.

I'm going to try to test the amps, but I don't know where I could test them. Any advice would be helpfull.

Thx!

Timothy

knaithrover

Nov 24, 2013
Visit site