Long shot - Sonneteer amp

margetti

May 29, 2008
Visit site
Two products that don't get a mention much here - my Onix amp, and the Sonneteer Campion. Just seen a 2nd hand campian come up for sale and want to know if it would be a worthwhile upgrade over my Onix. Appreciate I'm not going to get a lot of replies, but if anyone, ANYONE, can comment I'd really appreciate it. Don't often buy "blind", but am sorely tempted (motivation being the ownership of a Sonneteer cdp).

TheHomeCinemaCentre

Oct 1, 2008
Visit site
The Alabaster is a great amp - often overlooked as Sonneteer is not a well known name in the UK. It would depend on the price you are paying really. At £1000 ( its RRP) the Alabaster fights its corner and delivers a rich full sound. It doesnt quite have the pace of the competition or the out and out detail but in the right system it can sound excellent. Like the Sugden A21 but perhaps not as warm.

I have no experience of the Onix so can't compare directly for you unfortunately.

margetti

May 29, 2008
Visit site
Thanks for replying Nick - I didn't expect too many if any replies as neither manufacturer is too well known. I think I'm going to have to decide whether to take a punt, and if it doesn't work out hope I don't lose too much money on re-selling it.

A

Anonymous

I know the Sonneteer amps very well, but I don't know Onix. The Alabaster firmly remains easily one of my favourite amps at it's price point, the little Campion is also a gem, a very sweet and charming sound that you can listen to for hours on end without feeling audio fatigue, it's not bright, it doesn't grate it's just an amp to fit and forget, it just makes music, it had good body, a sweet treble and a warmish bass, if you have a big room or low sensitivity i'd look for an alabaster, but in a smaller room a Campion will be perfect. Of course Sonneteer are designed and made in the UK, ignored far too much.

margetti

May 29, 2008
Visit site