KEF 2005.3 5.1 speaker package but what AV Receiver should i get?????

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I'm a complete noob to all of this but I have finally managed to save the money to invest in a home cinema system.

After a lot of research and a few auditions I have finally decided on the KEF 2005.3 5.1 speaker package (£699). But now I cannot decide what receiver to get to go with them.

Originally I was going to go for the Onlyo SR606 (£400), so off I went to Richer sounds and listened to the KEF's hooked up to this and it sounded amazing when it was pumping out the sound track to Gladiator.

Then on the way home, feeling quite content with my choice, I nipped into Sevenoaks to see what they had in. After speaking to sales person in there, he tried to steer me away from the Onkyo, he didn't recommend the receiver at all. In the end I ended up having a listen to the KEF's hooked up to a Harman/Kardon AVR-347 (£500), even though the Gladiator sound track sounded much crisper, I could help the fact that I really didn't like the styling on the AVR-347 as much as the Onkyo and also I got the impression that the H/K was due to be replaced with a new model. As when I mentioned that I only had £1000 to spend the sales person went away and hey-presto, they could do a deal for the H/K AVR-347 & the KEF's for £1000.

After a bit more research I have found that Pioneer are due to release a new range, the Pioneer VSX-1018 specifically, and it also looks like Yamaha are due to release the 663.

I'm just wondering if someone could advise me what I am best to do? Is it worth waiting for the new Pioneer, which I think looks the dog’s dangleys or will I be ok with the Onkyo or the H/K AVR-347? Or any other receiver anyone wants to throw into the pot.

I have a Panasonic full HD LCD and I need to be able to connect the following - Panasonic HD up-scaling DVD/HDD recorder, XBox 360 Elite & PS3 ideally all by HDMI.