Review JVC XL-V211 CD Player - who knew?!

record_spot

I've been buying up vintage CD players for quite a few years now. Mostly as I'm keen to here if older CD players (late 80s) were as bad as they're made out to be, and just to see how they compare to what we're used to now.

My current CD player (which will be staying) is a Kenwood DP990-SG, which is one rung down from the TOTL of its day (the 1100-SG). Slight power supply difference I think, but otherwise very similar and performance is just astonishingly good. One of the best I've had in thiry years of having CD players.

I'd always been interested in those brands that seemed to get poo-poohed in audiophile circles, and certainly, in the early 90s, you'd have to look long and hard at a What Hi Fi (or probably anything else) to get past the Pioneer, Sony, Arcam or Marantz CD players of the day that festooned most titles back then.

And then I found a JVC XL-V211 the other week. Eh?

A quick scout around the net found little, but a couple of posts on Audiokarma, pretty decent feedback there and I went for it. Cost was minimal, the sellers' "fully working" description a tad shy of the mark, but not enough to send it back to them, but the sound is really rather impressive!

This isn't an expensive player at all. If it sold for more than £200 in the late 80s, I'll be *very* surprised. Performance-wise though, it's really very good. I often felt we saw far too little of the other brands in the magazines in the 80s aside from the usual suspects. The JVC turns in a brilliant show really - very analogue sounding, no harshness, and a fine sound quality, with plenty of room for instruments that shows depth. Astonishing, but perhaps not altogether surprising.

If you see one, and are keen to try out older CD players, give it a spin. You should pick one up for around £50-70 and for a short term spin, it's worth it.

treesey

I keep meaning to buy a Pioneer DVD player, the DV-300, for about ten quid, all down to this guy.