Is this the best film that no-one has seen?

strapped for cash

Aug 17, 2009
Visit site
I saw Regeneration when it came out (and later read the book).

I was interested in the subject matter, as I studied the war poets as part of my English Lit. A Level which, alarmingly, was more than two decades ago.

It's a very good film, and Owen's "Parable of the Old Man and the Young" lends the conclusion genuine poignancy. I'm not sure I'd count Regeneration among "the greatest films ever made," however, which is a bold claim indeed.

I see the DVD is now available for less than £10. I tried to track it down several years ago, but could only locate overpriced second hand copies. To the best of my knowledge, the BBC only screened Regeneration once, so it's perhaps unsurprising the film didn't find a larger audience.

I watched an afternoon repeat of Who do You Think You Are? recently, in which Hugh Dennis traced his grandfathers' history. One clearly went through hell in Normandy, before moving on to Ypres. For decades after he woke early to tend his garden, a form of "therapy" learnt after suffering shellshock. On hearing his story I thought immediately of Regeneration and Owen's poem.

Unfortunately we learn nothing from history, with much of Europe shifting further right (support for the Front National is surging in France, far right parties are winning ground in other countries, while large numbers of Brits seemed unconcerned by Nigel's alliance with a Holocaust denier). Nice times we're living in.

Understand about my comments being a little OTT. As an enthusiastic amateur scriptwriter, I view films in a slightly different way.

A couple of examples of the dialogue which, to me, is mustard. Can't find the screenplay online anywhere, so I'm having to take this directly from the film, and hope my interpretation is correct.

The scene where Capt. Rivers is assessing Sassoon notes. Sassoon is sitting the other side of the desk.

Rivers: Why do they call you 'Mad Jack'?