Integrated Amp & Speakers £2.5k budget

Feb 11, 2016
Visit site
Hi All,

I am hoping someone can help me out.

I currently have a yamaha amp, TDL studio 5 speakers, tannoy SFX sub (all purchased when i was a poor student).
Sources i have a Sonos connect (sounds quality of these things is pretty poor so i need a DAC), Audio Technica AT-LP5 TT.

I am looking to purchase a new Amp and Speakers for around £2.5k. I would happily spend lower or slightly more depending on how good things sound. For example in the past i have listed to a cheaper system which i prefered over a more expensive system.

Ideally i was thinking approx £1k speakers, £1k amp, £500 DAC?

So far i have been into richer sounds where i could demo an Arcam A19 (i found the mids very harsh, its very punchy, robotic, unnatural and the it was an uncomfortable listen) and an Arcam A29 (much smoother and warmer however lacking any excitement) with some Dynaudio DM 3/7 and Tannoy XT 6F.

I would like to hear some reccomendations as i am finding it really difficult to get anything decent out of the sales staff at my two local shops. The richer sounds bunch near me don't really know their stuff and the other smaller retailer that i called up seemed determined for me to buy a Rega Brio (every review i have read so far has said the brio is nowhere near as good as the Elex R).

The amps i am interested in are

Rega Elex-R
Marantz PM8005
Naim Nait 5si
Yamaha A-S1100 (yamaha are not that popular but i currently have a yamaha and i actually love it).

Speakers, i honestly have no real idea, There is no brand i wont look at however my other half has said no way can they be black!

When trialling the Dynaudios i was quite shocked at how bad they sounded when playing EBTG - the tannoys via the A29 however were much nicer.

I was thinking maybe focal, MA or Dali.