Improve Your Midrange - Add Another Pair!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Yesterday I massively improved my hi-fi sound for only £35. I found some Mission E30s open boxed for the price and set them up on my Arcam A32. The sound was brilliantly smooth and quite detailed with a nice soundstage, but they severely lacked bass depth. So, what did I do? I wired them in on the second channel on my Arcam with my Wharfedale EVO2 30s on the first. Then I placed the Missions on top of the Wharfeys (remember they have the inverted tweeter alignment) and played them both together...

It was utterly amazing.

I had no idea what I was missing in the midrange with my Wharfedales and putting the Missions on with them made it sound like Eddie Van Halen and Roth were in my room! Something which I have no experienced in my setup to this date! Timing? Perfect - there was no problem having two sets of speakers on at the same time, and the Arcam seemed to cope with the 8ohm Missions and 6ohm Wharfedales on at the same time, even at -20db!

I know many of you will not believe this improvement and that it would sound very mushy and badly timed with both on at the same time, but it was amazing! No, make that perfect - Johnny Cash was live in that jail and I was in the croud - fantastic! Has anyone else done this?

Pike900fish

Jun 23, 2008
Visit site
Recently when i had a tweeter go on some Mission 734i Floorstanders I hooked up a pair of old JPW mini monitors(my first rear speakers) in the same way. To be honest, I thought the combination sounded better than the 734is alone. The JPWs tweeters were detailed and not as bright as the original...Only problem is it looked odd and there was no way she who must be obeyed would have gone for it!

So is this a permanent set up for you now?

fr0g

Jan 7, 2008
Visit site