How to connect a subwoofer to a yamaha A-S500

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi

im wondering if someone can help me. ive just bought a yamaha a-s500 stereo amp and i want to buy a wharfedale 10 sx sub to go with it. i have 2 pairs of speakers connected to the amp and want to add the subwoofer. on the back of my amp, i have a sub woofer out.

What im really confused about is, how do i connect this to the wharfedale sub?! with an av receiver u just need a single sub cable but is this the same for a stereo amp?

the back of the wharfedale 10 subs have line level input/outputs with L and R channels and also have speaker level inputs. Would i have to use a Y connector or just a normal cable?

bit confused what to do as im a noob when it comes to subs!

any help is much appreciated!

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
All you need is a single phono-phono cable to run from the AS500's subwoofer pre-out into either the left or right input of the Wharfedale - if one of those inputs says LFE or mono, then use that input.

It will be plugged in in exactly the same way as into an AV receiver.

A

Anonymous

thanks alot for your help. answered my question very fast! :D

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
No problem
emotion-1.gif

A

Anonymous

On a similar topic, I have an old boom-box type of sub from an old purchase that has speaker connections only...and wondered (if) and how I should connect it to a Cambridge Azure 640R av amp? The speaker outputs are all taken with my 5 speaker setup and there is a dedicated subwoofer out but my box doesn't allow this type of connection...

Should I even bother I wonder...?

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
You can't connect that sub unless you put a power amplifier of some sort between the 640R and the sub. The one you have is a passive design (ie no built-in amplifier), whereas what you need is an active sub.