How much does the cd player matter?

muljao

Jul 18, 2016
Visit site
It is my intention to beef up my music system over the next while. I had an ok (very good to me as teenager into young twenties) setup 20 odd years ago. I used to get what hifi back then, good to see its still around.

From the new stuff I am just learning getting back into the tech side, a mediocre cd player with a digital output fed to a very good DAC, or indeed a laptop with lossless digital file fed to a good DAC should be better than a very good cd player that the DAC is less quality than say the seperate unit.If so a 100 pound blu ray player with a 400 pound DAC may beat a 500 pound cd player, or my windows media player 12 FLAC files may also.

Am I correct here or is the info going in to the brain wrong?

Benedict_Arnold

Jan 16, 2013
Visit site
I can't remember the last proper CDP I bought.
The last CD transport I bought was a Cyrus CD-XT paired with a Cyrus DAC-X.
Nowadays I rip all my CDs to FLAC as soon as I get them on my PC, then put the CDs away for safety and posterity.
If / when I get a "proper stereo"again, I very much doubt I will bother with a CDP or a separate DAC, using a preamp with a network connection to my FLAC library, or just a portable 2.5 inch USB hard disc instead.
If your CDP is okay and relatively jitter free, a good modern DAC will probably extend its useful life until either the smoke escapes from it (Google "electricity and smoke") or you go off to the Great Hi-fi Shoppe in the Sky...

Benedict_Arnold

Jan 16, 2013
Visit site
PS modest CDP, not mediocre. A piece of junk from the charity shoppe or Argos isn't going to do you any favours.
And yes, your DVD or BDP will work just as well, if not better than, a mediocre CDP. Just use its digital audio output (fibre optic or coaxial, it really doesn't matter) to feed your "proper stereo" DAC.

steve_1979

Jul 14, 2010
Visit site
Benedict_Arnold said: